

Global Alumni Association of Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur

NOTICE FOR CONDUCTING ELECTION FOR THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE TERM 2021-2023

June 9, 2021

1. Constitution of Election Commission:

As per Clause 5.3.1 of the MoA-Regulations of the Association, the Executive Committee (EC) of GAABESU, in its 98th meeting held on 20 February 2021, constituted a threemember Election Commission comprising of following members for conducting election for the Executive Committee for the term 2021-2023.

i) Prof. Gautam Bandyopadhyay (Electrical 1976), Chairman;

- ii) Prof. Anirban Gupta (Civil 1989), Member;
- iii) Prof. Pratik Dutta (Mining 1990), Member;

GAABESU EC has also decided that due to present pandemic situation all over the world and lock-downs, the whole election process would be carried out electronically using Internet. A purpose-specific election software will be used, if voting is required. No in-person activity will be carried out.

2. Notice for Election:

The Election Commission invites nomination from eligible willing Life members of the GAABESU in attached prescribed format, as per schedule given below, to be candidate for a position in the GAABESU Executive Committee for the term 2021-2023. Tenure of the Executive Committee shall be two years.

The whole election process shall be carried out as per GAABESU MoA-Regulation and Guideline for GAABESU Executive Committee Elections. Only matters related to hardcopy ballot and manual voting shall not be applicable. Both these documents are available in GAABESU website.

3. Executive Committee:

As per Clause 5.1 of the Regulations, the Executive Committee shall consist of twenty seven (27) members and out of which six (6) will be Office Bearers namely, President, Working President, Vice President, Secretary, Joint Secretary and Treasurer. The Clause further mentions that posts of Working President, Secretary and Treasurer will be held by members who are located within easily commutable distance from the registered office of the Association. The Office Bearers will be elected by the members of the Executive Committee only. Through this election process, mentioned below, the members shall elect a maximum of 27 Executive Committee members.

GAABESU, University Guest House, IIEST, Shibpur, P.O. BotanicGarden, West Bengal, India, 711103

+91 (33) 2668 7436 / 4564 facebook.com/gaabesu gaabesu@gmail.com twitter.com/gaabesu www.gaabesu.in linkedin.com/groups/2529987

Registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. SO129880 of 2005-2006



4. Eligibility for election in the Executive Committee:

As per Clause 5.3.2 of the Regulations, only the Life Members of the Association shall be eligible to be elected as a member of the Executive Committee. At least ten (10) members of the Executive Committee shall be from places located within easily commutable distance from the registered office of the Association. No member of the Executive Committee can hold office for more than three (3) consecutive terms and for more than a total of five (5) terms.

5. Election Schedule:

- Devication of notice for conducting election: By 9th Jun 2021
- Last date and time of submission of nomination: 25th June 2021 at 12:00 PM IST
- Display of valid nominations in GAABESU Website: 29th June 2021
- Last date and time of withdrawal of nomination: 05 July 2021 at 12:00 PM IST
- Display of names of valid candidates in GAABESU Website: 08 July 2021

□ Voting for election of members of the Executive Committee (in case number of valid candidates exceeds the stipulated strength of the Executive Committee):

- □ Issue of guidelines:- 08 July 2021,
- □ Start of voting:- 16 July 2021 at 10:00AM IST,
- □ End of voting: **20 July 2021 at 12:00 PM IST.**

Completion of Election process including counting of ballots (in case voting takes place): **27 July 2021.**

6. Submission of Nomination:

□ Nomination may be submitted only by valid Life Members of GAABESU as on **31 March 2021.** Election Commission would go by the Membership roll to be provided by the Secretary of the Association.

□ Eligibility criteria, as mentioned in item# 4 above, may please be seen while submitting nomination.

□ Each nomination shall have to be proposed by a valid Life member of the Association. No member shall propose more than two candidates for the Executive Committee.

□ Nomination shall be submitted in prescribed format only with relevant details and must be signed by the Proposer and the Candidate.

□ Nomination form is attached with this Notice. It can also be downloaded from **GAABESU website:** (<u>https://www.gaabesu.in/election/</u>). Requests are being made to various alumni chapters/ associations/ clubs to widely circulate the notice and nomination form among GAABESU members in their chapters/ associations/ clubs through their respective web-site or otherwise.

□ Membership list is available on-line at: <u>https://www.gaabesu.in/mt-</u> content/uploads/2021/06/gaabesu-membership-list-upto-31.03.2021.pdf

Duly filled-up and signed nomination form (scanned copy) shall be submitted within the schedule given for submission of nomination through e-mail addressed to <u>gaabesu.election@gmail.com</u>. Final Nomination submission mail must come from the registered e-mail address of either the Proposer or the Nominee.



7. Important points to be noted:

- □ Nomination shall be invalid:
 - (i) if not submitted in prescribed format;
 - (ii) if all the relevant details are not filled in;
 - (iii) if not signed by the Proposer and the Candidate;
 - (iv) if a member proposes more than two candidates (both);
 - (v) if not received within the prescribed time;
 - (vi) if there is any error or lack of clarity in the Nomination;

(vii) if not submitted by valid Life Member and not proposed by a valid Life Member of the Association.

viii) if not sent from the registered e-mail address of either Proposer or Nominee

In case number of total valid nominations exceeds twenty seven (27) but number of valid nominations from places within easily commutable distance from Association office do not exceed ten (10), the candidates from places within easily commutable distances would stand elected and there shall be voting for remaining positions only.

Sd/- Gautam Bandyopadhyay Chairman, Election Commission On behalf of the Election Commission