

Minutes of the 10th Annual General Meeting of GAABESU held on Saturday, 16th September, 2017 at 04.00 p.m. in the Alumni Seminar Hall.

Members present: Members were present physically and via skype as per list attached.

The meeting started with the President Biman Ghosh in the Chair. Since the President attended the meeting via skype, as per his request, the Working President Kaustav Biswas took Chair and called Secretary Partha Pratim Roy, Syama Prasad Datta, Member of the Election Commission, Achyut Ghosh, Member to the dias and started the 10th Annual General Meeting. Number of members present, physically and through proxy, formed Quorum.

The Items of Agenda for the Meeting were as follows:

- 1. Welcome address;
- 2. To receive, consider and confirm the proceedings of the 9th Annual General Meeting and of Special General Meeting;
- 3. To receive, consider and adopt the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2016-17;
- 4. To receive, consider and adopt the Audited Accounts for the year 2016 17;
- 5. To appoint an Auditor and fix his/her remuneration for the year 2017-18;
- 6. To consider Resolutions brought forward by the Executive Committee and individual members, if any;
- 7. To declare the result of the general election by the Election Commissioners;
- 8. Vote of Thanks;

Agenda wise minutes of the meeting are given below.

AgendaNo.1: Welcome address;

Via Skype President Biman Ghosh welcomed the members present in the AGM.

AgendaNo.2: To receive, consider and confirm the proceedings of the 9th Annual General Meeting, Adjourned General Meeting and of Special General Meeting;

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting, Adjourned Annual General meeting and Special General Meeting were circulated earlier to the members through e-mail. Secretary Partha Pratim Roy read out those three MoMs and the minutes were then confirmed by the house.

AgendaNo.3: To receive, consider and adopt the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2016-17;

President Biman Ghosh requested the Secretary to read the Annual Report for the year 2016-2017. Secretary, Partha Pratim Roy read out the list of our deceased alumni, and expressed condolences on behalf of the Executive Committee as well as the Alumni of this Institute. The members observed one-minute silence in memory of the deceased Alumni.

+91 (33) 2668 7436 / 4564 facebook.com/gaabesu gaabesu@gmail.com twitter.com/gaabesu www.gaabesu.org linkedin.com/groups/2529987

Registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. S/1L/29880 of 2005-2006



Then he placed the Annual Report on the activities of GAABESU, for the period of August 2016 to August 2017. The session was interactive and some members shared their opinion, which were duly noted and responded. The report was appreciated and adopted by the members present.

Agenda No. 4: To receive, consider and adopt the Audited Accounts for the year 2016 – 17; As Somnath Sinha Ray, Treasurer was not present in the meeting, Koustav Biswas, Working President requested the Auditor Mr. Arup Dasgupta to share their observations. Auditor Mr. Dasgupta explained the basic features of the report and pointed out that there are too many different accounts which needs to be sorted out. The Identification of the deposit accounts should be made in the line of the object of the fund and the adjustments should be made in the annual accounts for the year 2016-17. In absence of any specific comments, the Audit Report was accepted and approved by the House.

Agenda No. 5: To appoint an Auditor and fix his/her remuneration for the year 2017-18;

Honorary Secretary placed the recommendation of the Executive Committee to nominate M/s A. Dasgupta & Associates Chartered Accountants as Auditor of GAABESU Accounts for the financial years 2017-18. The House unanimously accepted the recommendation.

Agenda No.6: To consider Resolutions brought forward by the Executive Committee and individual members, if any;

There was no resolution brought by the Members.

Agenda No.7: To declare the result of the general election by the Election Commissioners;

Before declaration of the result of the general election President of EC5 Biman Ghosh appreciated the sincerity and hard work done by the Election Commission. This is the First time an Election was held for GAABESU EC. As the Chairman of Election commission Shri Amitabha Ghoshal was not present at the AGM, Shri Shyama Prasad Datta, Member of Election commission declared the result of General Election of 6th Executive Committee of GAABESU.

Then he announced the names of newly elected Executive Committee members for the next two years 2017-19 and it was unanimously accepted by the House. He explained that total 62 nomination forms were received by the Election commission. Out of 62, 2 nomination forms were cancelled due to technical fault and 11 nominations were withdrawn. Finally 49 candidates appeared for the election. There are 3 options for voting, through recognized email, Ballot Box and by post. He thanked the Chairman of Election Commission Shri Amitabha Ghoshal and Election Commission Member Prof. Netai Ch. Dey for their support and help to complete the GAABESU Election 2017-19 timely and successfully. He also thanked outgoing Executive Committee for their support and help.

Agenda No.8: Vote of Thanks;

Working President Kaustav Biswas thanked all present Alumni for participating the meeting. He also thanked Election Commission for their hard work. He requested all to attend Alumni Day which would be held on the last Sunday of the year.

The 10th Annual General Meeting at the Alumni Seminar Hall ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.