

Seeks to reach, serve and engage all its alumni to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the Alma Mater and its alumnus.

Dated 20th July 2015

Draft Minutes of the 8th Annual General Meeting of GAABESU held on 11.07.2015 at 5.00 PM at Alumni Seminar Hall, IIEST.

Members present: Members were present physically and via skype.

Since the President, Vice President, and Working President were not physically present, the meeting started with the past President Syama Prasad Datta in the Chair. Biman Ghosh, President of GAABESU (EC4) and Pro tem President Himansu Banerjee were present via Skype. Syama Prasad Datta explained GAABESU activities shortly to the present members and students.

Before start of the meeting awards were given to the winners of GAABESU Students' Rewards Programme 2014-15. Senior most Alumnus present in the meeting, Mihir Chatterjee (1945 CE), handed over the certificates and Reward amount to 21 recipients on behalf of GAABESU and 1977 batch of students.

Then the Honorary Secretary announced, on behalf of the Executive Committee, deep grief on the death of the Alumni of the University. The members observed one-minute silence in memory of the expired Alumni.

Syama Prasad Datta welcomed the members present and requested the Honorary Secretary to read the Agenda and minutes of the last AGM.

The Items of Agenda for the Meeting were as follows:

- 1. To read and confirm the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 30.08.2014
- 2. To place the report of the Honorary Secretary on activities of the Association for the last one year;
- 3. To place Auditors' report for the period 1st April 2014 to 31st March 2015;
- 4. To propose the Auditor for the year 2015-2016;
- 5. To consider the proposal of Executive Committee for amendment of Memorandum of Association and Regulations;
- Announcement of new Executive Committee members for the next two years 2015-17 of GAABESU by the Chairman, Election Commission;
- 7. To consider any other item with permission of the chair;

Registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. S/IL/29880 of 2005-2006.

Phone/Fax:+91-33-2668-7436, 2668-4564 ; Web: <u>www.becollege.org</u>; Email: <u>gaabesu @gmail.com</u>; Facebook : <u>www.facebook.com/gaabesu</u>

GAABESU, University Guest House, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur, Howrah, WB, India 711 103



Seeks to reach, serve and engage all its alumni to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the Alma Mater and its alumnus.

Agenda wise minutes of the meeting are given below.

AgendaNo.1: To confirm the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 30.08.2014;

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting were circulated earlier to the members through e-mail. The minutes were then confirmed.

Agenda No. 2: To place the Annual report of the Honorary Secretary on the activities of the Association for the last one year.

Pratik Dutta, Honorary Secretary placed the Annual Report on the activities of Global Alumni Association of Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur (GAABESU), for the period of August 2014 to June 2015. The session was interactive and some members shared their opinion, which were duly noted and responded. The report was appreciated and adopted by the members present.

Agenda No. 3: To place Auditors' report for the period 1" April 2014 to 31stMarch 2015.

As Malay Kumar Ghosh, Treasurer was not present in the meeting Pratik Dutta, Honorary Secretary placed the Account and Audit Report for the financial year 2014-15. The report was accepted and approved by the House.

Agenda No.4: To propose the Auditor for the year 2015-2016.

Honorary Secretary placed the recommendation of the Executive Committee to nominate M/s B Basu & Co. Chartered Accountants as Auditor of GAABESU Accounts for the financial years 2015-16. The House unanimously accepted the recommendation.

Agenda No. 5: To consider the proposal of Executive Committee for amendment of Memorandum of Association and Regulations.

On behalf of MOA amendment sub-committee, Prosenjit Chakraborty placed the proposal of the EC members for Amendment of Bylaws in the meeting for consideration for approval. The house accepted the proposal.

Agenda No.6: Announcement of new Executive Committee members for the next two years 2015-17 of GAABESU by the Chairman, Election Commission

Lt. Col. Prof. Anjan Kumar Ghosh, Chairman, Election Commission announced the names of new selected Executive Committee members for the next two years 2015-17 and it was unanimously accepted by the House. He thanked 2 Election Commission Members Prof. Arabinda Roy and Prof. Prasid Shyam for their support and help to complete the GAABESU Election 2015-17 timely and successfully.

Registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. S/IL/29880 of 2005-2006.

Phone/Fax:+91-33-2668-7436, 2668-4564 ; Web: <u>www.becollege.org</u>; Email: <u>gaabesu @gmail.com</u>; Facebook : <u>www.facebook.com/gaabesu</u>

GAABESU, University Guest House, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur, Howrah, WB, India 711 103



Seeks to reach, serve and engage all its alumni to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the Alma Mater and its alumnus.

President Biman Ghosh thanked all EC4 members specially Office Bearers for managed the operations of GAABESU successfully.

Agenda No.7: To consider any other item with permission of the chair

- Usha Shankar Bhattacharyya proposed that if GAABESU organize seminar in the campus it would be very helpful for the students. He also suggested formation of a GAABESU googlegroup.
- Biplab Mukhopadhyay inquired about the progress of Badal Sarkar Auditorium, which was initiated by 1969 batch of Alumni. He also proposed that an underground car parking facility be developed in the campus.
- Chirantan Chottopadhyay suggested that every effort be given towards increasing of membership. For this he suggested pursuing alumni batch wise, which might be very helpful. He also proposed that there must be an election process in the MOA. Swapan Saha answered his questions and opined that elections could be conducted. Prosenjit Chakraborty replied that in the time of amendment of MOA it was discussed briefly.
- Syama Prasad Datta suggested that decisions of EC meetings be reported in the Annual Report. He also expressed concern about non-utilization of the fund given by Shyamal Mitra. He urged GAABESU that effort should be taken to make IIEST aware of the fund so that it can be utilized properly.

After that Chief Guest Prof. Ajoy K. Ray delivered his speech. He immensely thanked IIEST Alumni who have donated and cared for this University since its inception. He explained clearly the status of placement of the students. He welcomed the alumni to participate in all developmental activities of the University and enrich the students with their vide range of knowledge and ideas.

Former President Syama Prasad Datta thanked all present Alumni for participating the meeting. He requested all to attend Alumni Day which would be held on the last Sunday of the year.

The 8th Annual General Meeting at the Alumni Seminar Hall ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Pratik Dutta) Honorary Secretary, GAABESU

Registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. S/IL/29880 of 2005-2006.

Phone/Fax:+91-33-2668-7436, 2668-4564 ; Web: <u>www.becollege.org</u>; Email: <u>gaabesu @gmail.com</u>; Facebook : <u>www.facebook.com/gaabesu</u>

GAABESU, University Guest House, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur, Howrah, WB, India 711 103