

Seeks to reach, serve and engage all its alumni to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the Alma Mater and its graduates.

Dated 5th October 2013

Draft Minutes of the 6th Annual General Meeting of GAABESU held on 05.10.2013 at 4.00 PM at Alumni Seminar Hall, BESU.

Members present: The attached document shows the attendance.

The meeting started with the President Syama Prasad Datta in the Chair.

At the outset, the Chairman of the meeting announced on behalf of the Executive Committee deep grief on the death of the Alumni of BESUS. The members observed one-minute silence in memory of the expired Alumni.

The Chairman welcomed the members present and requested the Honorary Secretary to read the Agenda and minutes of the last AGM. Then Honorary Secretary read the Agenda and the minutes of the last AGM.

The Items of Agenda for the Meeting were as follows:

1. To read and confirm the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 04.08.2012.

2. To place the report of the Honorary Secretary on activities of the Association for the last one year.

3. To place Auditors' report for the period 1st April 2012 to 31st March 2013;

4. To propose the Auditor for the year 2013-2014;

5. To consider the proposal of the Executive Committee for amendment of Memorandum of Association and Regulations;

6. Announcement of new Executive Committee members for the next two years 2013-15 of GAABESU by the Chairman, Election Commission;

7. To consider any other item with the permission of the chair.

AgendaNo.1. To confirm the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 04.08.2012.

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting were circulated earlier to the members through e-mail. The minutes were confirmed.

Agenda No. 2.To place the Annual report of the Honorary Secretary on the activities of the Association for the last one year.

Aditya Bandyopadhyay, Honorary Secretary placed the Annual Report on the activities of Global Alumni Association of Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur(GAABESU), for the period of July 2012 to September 2013. The report was appreciated and adopted by the members present.



Seeks to reach, serve and engage all its alumni to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the Alma Mater and its graduates.

After that Chief Guest Prof. Ajoy K. Ray delivered his speech. He immensely thanked BESU Alumni who have donated and cared for BESU since its inception. He explained the progress and the present status of conversion of BESU and also explained what would happen after conversion of BESU to IIEST. He welcomed the alumni to participate in all developmental activities of the University and enrich the students with their vide range of knowledge and ideas.

Agenda No. 3. To place Auditors' report for the period 1" April 2012 to 31stMarch 2013.

Pratik Dutta, Treasurer placed the Account and Audit Report for the financial year 2012-13. The report was accepted and approved by the House.

Agenda No.4. To propose the Auditor for the year 2010-2011.

Honorary Secretary placed the recommendation of the Executive Committee to nominate M/s B Basu & Co. Chartered Accountants as Auditor of GAABESU Accounts for the financial years 2013-14. The recommendation was unanimously accepted by the House.

Agenda No. 5. To consider the proposal of Executive Committee for amendment of Memorandum of Association and Regulations.

Chairman Syama Prasad Datta placed the proposal of the EC members for Amendment of Bylaws in the meeting for consideration for approval. The Amendments are given below:

- 1. Simplification of GAABESU membership structure, eliminating annual membership category
- 2. GAABESU Life Membership with BESU Caution Money
- 3. Qualified donation for membership is accepted
- 4. Emergency provision of a restricted budget for any project or initiative without prior Executive Committee approval
- 5. Encourage formation of EC with new members to bring fresh ideas and blood in a global organization restricting terms
- 6. Elimination of conflict of interest in Serving GAABESU Executive Committee
- 7. Electronic Communication is accepted for all GAABESU operations

President Syama P. Datta suggested that this type of amendments do not require any resolution for incorporate in MOA. EC members can take decision on all these issues by themselves.

Amitava Ghoshal proposed to make an individual committee to change/amend the constitution, which was accepted by the house.

6. Announcement of new Executive Committee members for the next two years 2013-15 of GAABESU by the Chairman, Election Commission;

Prf. Biswanath Datta Chairman, Election Commission announced the names of new selected Executive Committee members for the next two years 2013-15 and it was unanimously accepted by the House.

Agenda No.6. To consider any other item with permission of the chair.



Seeks to reach, serve and engage all its alumni to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the Alma Mater and its graduates.

- Prof. Santanu Karmakar raised some point in respect the effort on conversion of BESUS to IIEST status. He strongly appreciated the teachers' effort in this regard.
- Prof Indranath Sinha gave special thanks to Amitava Ghoshal and STUP for their tireless efforts to complete the swimming pool project and he also thanked to Amal De for renovation of Gymnasium Project.
- Prof. Anjan Ghosh raised the issue of decreasing membership against caution money this year. He tries to find out the solution.
- President Syama P. Datta replied to all topics and he also thanked to Amitava Ghoshal and STUP for their tremendous contribution for renovation of Swimming pool.
- One proposal from Amitava Ghoshal for investing the FDs in more profitable FD schemes which was highly appreciated by the members.
- Some members were interested to get hard copy of the Alumni Link. It was felt that printing and circulation should continue on regular basis and to meet the cost of printing and circulation a portion on the pages of the brochure could be reserved for sponsors.

The 6th Annual General Meeting at the Alumni Seminar Hall ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Pratik Dutta) Honorary Secretary, GAABESU