GAABESU SCHOLARSHIP SUB-COMMITTEE

Alumni Fellowship for Excellence Awards Winners for 2014-15

1. Prof. Naresh Chandra Bose Award for Excellence in Civil Engineering

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2008-09
Award Amount	INR 8,500 per student per year
Corpus Fund	INR 100,000
Donor	Mr. Shankar Bose (1967 CE), Kolkata, INDIA
Winner	Anirban Paul, 2014 CE

2. 150 Years Commemorative BECAA-Maharashtra Award for Best Sport Person

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2008-09
Award Amount	INR 6,000 per student per year
Corpus Fund	INR 70,000
Donor	BECAA-Maharashtra Chapter
Winner	Sourav Barui, 4 th yr. MIN

3. 150 Years Commemorative BECAA-Maharashtra Awards (2 nos)

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2008-09
Award Amount	INR 24,000 per year for 2 students
Corpus Fund	INR 5,60,000
Donor	BECAA-Maharashtra Chapter
Winner 1	Subhajit Ghosh, 4 th yr. ME
Winner 2	Bijoy Das, 4 th yr. CE

4. Class of 1990 Award: "Excellence in Leadership"

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2008-09
Award Amount	INR 12,000 per student per year
Corpus Fund	INR 1,40,000
Donor	Class of 1990 (worldwide)
Winner	Debrup Dutta Gupta, 4 th yr. ME

5. Professor Sankar Sebak Baral Memorial Fellowship

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2008-09
Award Amount	INR 16,000 per student per year
Corpus Fund	US\$ 4500/- in GAABESU USA A/c
Donor	Dr. Debasis Baral, San Jose, CA, USA
Winner	Amrita Roy Chowdhury, 4 th yr. CST

Winner	Prerona Das, 3 rd yr. CST
Donor	1988 Batch Silver Jubilee Reunion Fund
Corpus Fund	INR 3,33,000
Award Amount	INR 25,000 per student per year plus a trophy (value min. INR 2,000/-) and a certificate
Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from academic year 2013-14

6. 1988 Batch Silver Jubilee Award for Excellence

7. Arijit Guha Memorial Award for Excellence in Community Engagement & Social Welfare

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2014-15
Award Amount	INR 16,000 per student per year
Corpus Fund	US\$ 5000 in GAABESU USA A/c
Donor	The Guha family in memory of untimely demise of Dr. Arijit Guha (son of Manoj K. Guha, 1963 Metallurgy)
Winner	Debendra Nath Sarkar, 4 th yr. ME

8. Arijit Guha Memorial Award for Excellence in Metallurgy & Materials Engineering

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2014-15
Award Amount	INR 16,000 per student per year
Corpus Fund	US\$ 5000 in GAABESU USA A/c
Donor	The Guha family in memory of untimely demise of Dr. Arijit Guha (son of Manoj K. Guha, 1963 Metallurgy)
Winner	Soham Mukherjee, 4 th yr. MET

9. Surita Ghosh Memorial Fellowship in Extra-curricular Activities

Award Type	Perpetual from AY 2014-15, in memory of untimely demise of Mrs. Surita Ghosh (wife of Biman Ghosh, 1981 Metallurgy)
Award amount	INR 16,000 per student per year
One time Donation	US\$ 5,000
Donor	Mr. Manoj K. Guha, 1963 Metallurgy, Ohio, USA
Winner	Sagardwip Das, 4 th yr. ME

10. Soumya Bhattacharyya Memorial Award for Excellence in Electrical Engineering

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from academic year 2014-15.
Award Amount	INR 15,000 per student per year plus a medal (value min. INR 1,000) and a certificate
Corpus Fund	INR 2,00,000
Donor	Sri Syamal Krishna Bhattacharyya in memory of untimely demise of his son Soumya Bhattacharyya (ex-student of BESU, 2001)
Winner	Arnab Das, 4 th yr. EE

11. Soumya Bhattacharyya Memorial Award for Excellence in Singing

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from academic year 2014-15.
Award Amount	INR 12,000 per student per year plus a medal (value min. INR 1,000) and a certificate
Corpus Fund	INR 1,62,000
Donor	Sri Syamal Krishna Bhattacharyya in memory of untimely demise of his son Soumya Bhattacharyya (ex-student of BESU, 2001)
Winner	Rehnuma Rafsan Nishi, 4 th yr. ARCH

12. Award of Excellence in Fluid Mechanics

Award Type	For 5 years starting from AY 2015
Award amount	INR 16,000 per student per year
One time Donation	CAD 2,000 (for five years subject to renewal)
Donor	Arindam Singha (ME 2002), Canada
Winner	Ayan Mukherjee, 4 th yr. ME

13. Sougata Mukherjee Memorial Awards for Excellence (2 nos)

Award Type	Perpetual, to commence from AY 2013-14
Award Amount	INR 20,000 per student per year for 2 students
Corpus Fund	INR 6,03,929
Donor	BESU alumni and friends of Late Sougata Mukherjee (97 ETC)
Winner 1	Kritavishek Mallick, 4 th yr. MIN
Winner 2	Som Sundar Roy, 4 th yr. ARCH